REPUBLIC COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS' MINUTES MONDAY, MAY 8, 2023

The Republic County Commission met in regular session on Monday, May 8, 2023, at 8:30 a.m. at the Republic County Courthouse. Commissioners present were Edwin Splichal, Melvin Jeardoe and Doug Garman. Clerk Kathleen Marsicek was present to record the minutes. Deb Hadachek from the Belleville Telescope observed most of the meeting.

The meeting was called to order and attendees pledged allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

Pastor Craig Roberts, Landmark Church of Belleville, offered Morning Prayer.

Commissioner Jeardoe made a motion to approve the agenda. Commissioner Garman seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.

Commissioner Jeardoe made a motion to approve the minutes from May 1, 2023. Commissioner Garman seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.

Accounts payable vouchers were approved in the amount of \$318,268.47.

Faye Jones, Health Administrator, reported on activities involving the Health Department:

- Family planning will officially start on July 1st.
- Budget increases for 2024 are related to wage increases and the increase in cost of vaccines.
- Plans to hire a RN later this year.
- Application to Duclos grant for remodeling the breakroom to become a conference room.
- Health Department is working with Pawnee Mental Health, Pivotal Health and Candace Fielder to offer services for mental health.

Robbin Cole, Pawnee Mental Health, presented their annual report of services in Republic County. Cole also asked for a 3% increase in contributions from Republic County during 2024.

Cole asked if the commissioners would proclaim May as Mental Health Awareness month.

Commissioner Jeardoe made a motion to proclaim May as Mental Health month in Republic County. Commissioner Garman seconded the motion which Commissioner Splichal made unanimous.

Ken Robbins presented for review, Highway, Transportation, Bridge and turbine project information:

- The weekly community concerns and projects completed report.
- Dust is the major issue with the windfarm project along with the wind.
- There are 3 candidates being processed through the pre-employment screening.
- Robbins presented for signature a wage increase sheet for Justin McGinley because of change of duties.
- Robbins presented for review 2024 budget requests for R&B, Fuel Center, Solid Waste, Transportation and Weeds.
- Cold patching and sealing should start next week.

At 10:43 a.m., Commissioner Splichal made a motion to recess to an executive session to discuss non-elected personnel for 10 minutes regarding employee performance. Commissioner Garman seconded the motion. Commissioner Jeardoe made it unanimous. Attending the session were the commissioners, Robbins and Clerk Marsicek.

The board reconvened at 10:553 a.m., taking no action.

Levi Whitley and Amy Mullis-Havel joined the meeting to present the EMS proposed 2024 budget along with other information from the EMS department.

Whitley demonstrated how to use a set of rescue ropes. Whitley requested that these Petzl SAR rescue packs be purchased with some of the windfarm funds for emergency equipment.

Commissioner Garman made a motion to approve the purchase of the rescue pack. Commissioner Jeardoe seconded the motion. Commissioner Splichal made it unanimous.

Barry Childs joined the meeting to announce that 5 applications have been approved to receive the \$25,000 incentive funds.

Correspondence from Deb Ohlde and Jenny Russell regarding available funding for counties that opt into the Regional Safe Street and Roads program grant. The commissioners instructed Clerk Marsicek to contact Ohlde and inform her that Republic County will opt into the program.

With all agenda items completed, Commissioner Garman made a motion to adjourn at 12:15 p.m. Commissioner Jeardoe seconded the motion. Motion carried.

The next meeting will be on Monday, May 15, 2023 beginning at 8:30 a.m. at the Republic County Courthouse in the Commissioners' boardroom.

ATTEST: _____

Kathleen L. Marsicek, County Clerk

APPROVED: _____

Edwin Splichal, Chairperson

Melvin Jeardoe, Member

Doug Garman, Member