REPUBLIC COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS' MINUTES MONDAY, DECEMBER 14, 2020

The Republic County Commission met in regular session on Monday, December 14, 2020, at 8:00 a.m. at the Republic County Courthouse. Commissioners present were Melvin Jeardoe and Edwin Splichal. Commissioner Marvin Bergstrom was absent. Clerk Kathleen Marsicek was present to record the minutes. Deb Hadachek from the Belleville Telescope and commissioner-elect Doug Garman observed the meeting.

The meeting was called to order and attendees pledged allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

Pastor Rick Snodgrass, Crossroads Assembly of God of Belleville, offered Morning Prayer.

Commissioner Splichal made a motion to approve the agenda. Commissioner Jeardoe seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Jeardoe made a motion to approve the December 7, 2020 minutes. Commissioner Splichal seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Accounts payable vouchers were approved in the amount of \$94,640.33 for regular accounts and SPARK funds were approved for \$201,381.80.

At 8:04 a.m., Commissioner Jeardoe made a motion to recess into executive session for 10 minutes to discuss non-elected personnel job performance. Commissioner Splichal seconded the motion. Motion carried. Attending the session were the commissioners and Stacey Bowen.

The board reconvened at 8:14 a.m., taking no action.

At 8:15 a.m., Commissioner Splichal made a motion to recess into executive session for 10 minutes to discuss non-elected personnel job performance. Commissioner Jeardoe seconded the motion. Motion carried. Attending the session were the commissioners, commissioner-elect Doug Garman and Susan Aaron. Commissioner Jeardoe requested and additional 2 minutes

The board reconvened at 8:27 a.m., taking no action.

Susan Aaron explained that she was concerned about inequity of employees receiving bonuses from the SPARK funds.

At 8:30 a.m., Commissioner Splichal made a motion to recess into executive session for 10 minutes to discuss non-elected personnel job performance. Commissioner Jeardoe seconded the motion. Motion carried. Attending the session were the commissioners, commissioner-elect Garman and Clerk Marsicek. Commissioner Splichal requested an additional 10 minutes.

The board reconvened at 8:50 a.m., taking no action.

Raymond Raney, Danielle Swanson and Justin Ferrell presented an update regarding purchases with SPARK funding for Republic County and pandemic numbers.

Swanson announced that positive cases are still rising in Republic County and 12-15 over the weekend. The total positive cases in Republic County as of Friday was 475 with 81 active cases.

Swanson stated that the vaccine for COVID has been shipped from supplies however hospital staff, Physicians and nursing home employees will be the first to receive the shots and it will be a two-dose vaccine.

Raney announced that Republic County will be receiving several cases of hand sanitizer from KDHE. Raney also announced that the City of Salina is issuing tickets for person not following the mask mandate. On Wednesday, December 16, Laura Leite will meet with Clerk Marsicek and himself to review all vouchers submitted and paid through the SPARK funds.

At 9:50 a.m., Commissioner Jeardoe made a motion to recess into executive session for 10 minutes to discuss non-elected personnel job performance. Commissioner Splichal seconded the motion. Motion carried. Attending the session were the commissioners, commissioner-elect Garman and Nathan Craig. Commissioner Splichal requested an additional 8 minutes.

The board reconvened at 10:08 a.m., taking no action.

At 10:08 a.m., Commissioner Splichal made a motion to recess into executive session for 10 minutes to discuss non-elected personnel job performance. Commissioner Jeardoe seconded the motion. Motion carried. Attending the session were the commissioners, commissioner-elect Garman, Dan Snyder and Clerk Marsicek.

The board reconvened at 10:18 a.m., taking no action.

At 10:20 a.m., Commissioner Jeardoe made a motion to recess into executive session for 10 minutes to discuss non-elected personnel job performance. Commissioner Splichal seconded the motion. Motion carried. Attending the session were the commissioners, commissioner-elect Garman, Bobby Lawson and Clerk Marsicek.

The board reconvened at 10:30 a.m., taking no action.

Terry Lambert, Road and Bridge Administrator, presented updates from the county shop area.

- Lambert reported an injury accident at the shop area last week. Employee is doing better.
- Demolition has begun on the old storage shed.
- Work on the bridge located at E-2.4 will begin in January
- The damaged or missing signs in the southern part of the Republic County have been replaced.
- Lambert suggested that the county hire an additional bus driver to be used in emergency situations.
- Lambert presented the informational letter being sent to solid waste customers with the January billing.
- Lambert announced that the Kansas Department of Transportation will reimburse Republic County of some administrative fees for 2020.

At 10:55 a.m., Commissioner Jeardoe made a motion to recess into executive session for 15 minutes to discuss non-elected personnel job performance. Commissioner Splichal seconded the motion. Motion carried. Attending the session were the commissioners, commissioner-elect Garman and Lambert. Commissioner Jeardoe requested an additional 10 minutes.

The board reconvened at 11:20 a.m., taking no action.

Jeff Beikmann and David Holloway, EMS, requested permission to purchase a power lift from Stryker for \$27,414.54 installed for the ambulance that did not have a lift. Permission was granted. Commissioner Splichal suggested that EMS apply for Dane Hansen Foundation grant to assist with the cost.

Danielle Swanson, County Health Administrator, returned to the meeting and announced that FDA has approved the delivery of the Pfizer vaccine and local hospitals should be receiving some this week.

Swanson also asked for clarification on the SPARK funding requests she submitted. It was decided that a County policy and individual contracts will need to be filled before all the requests will be approved.

Commissioner Splichal made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 12:40 p.m. Commissioner Jeardoe seconded the motion. Motion carried.

The next regular meeting will be on Monday, December 21, 20	020, beginning at 8:30 a.m. at the Republic County Courthouse.
ATTEST:	APPROVED:
Kathleen L. Marsicek, Republic County Clerk	Melvin Jeardoe – Chair
	Edwin Splichal – Member

Marvin Bergstrom – Member