## REPUBLIC COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS' MINUTES MONDAY, JANUARY 13, 2020

The Republic County Commission met in regular session on Monday, January 13, 2020, at 8:30 a.m. Commissioners present were Edwin Splichal and Melvin Jeardoe. Marvin Bergstrom joined via phone conference for part of the meeting. Clerk Kathleen Marsicek was present to record the minutes.

The meeting was called to order and attendees pledged allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

Lay pastor Kathleen Marsicek, Little Blue River Parish, offered Morning Prayer.

Commissioner Jeardoe made a motion to approve the agenda. Commissioner Splichal seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Splichal made a motion to approve the minutes from January 6, 2020. Commissioner Jeardoe seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Accounts payable vouchers were approved in the amount of \$491,639.31.

At 8:40 a.m., Commissioner Splichal made a motion to recess into executive session for 5 minutes to discuss non-elected Human Resource issue. Commissioner Jeardoe seconded the motion. Motion carried. Attending the session were the commissioners, Beth Ball and Clerk Marsicek. Commissioner Splichal requested an additional 5 minutes.

The board reconvened at 8:50 a.m. taking no action.

Commissioner Bergstrom joined the meeting via phone conference at 8:55 a.m.

Commissioner Splichal nominated Commissioner Jeardoe to reside as Chairman of the Board of Commissioners for 2020. Commissioner Jeardoe seconded the motion which was made unanimous by Commissioner Bergstrom.

Commissioner Splichal made a motion to approve the 2020 appointments and committees for Republic County. Commissioner Bergstrom seconded the motion. Commissioner Jeardoe made it unanimous.

Commissioner Splichal made a motion to approve the following Resolutions which were seconded by Commissioner Bergstrom and made unanimous by Commissioner Jeardoe.

- Resolution No. 2020-1, Listing of dates for Commission meetings, Payroll, Vouchers and Holidays.
- Resolution No. 2020-2, Raymond L. Raney a 911 Coordinator
- Resolution No. 2020-3, Raymond L. Raney as half time Director of Communication
- Resolution No. 2020-4, Raymond L. Raney as half time Emergency Manager
- Resolution No. 2020-5, David Holloway as Director of Emergency Medical Services
- Resolution No. 2020-6, Jeffrey Beikmann as Assistant Director of Emergency Medical Services
- Resolution No. 2020-7, Raymond L. Raney as Flood Plain Manager
- Resolution No. 2020-8, Raymond L. Raney as Hazardous Materials Advisor
- Resolution No. 2020-9, Danielle Swanson as Director of the Health Department
- Resolution No. 2020-10, Dustin Zenger as Highway Administrator
- Resolution No. 2020-11, Mike Nondorf as Noxious Weed Director
- Resolution No. 2020-12, Raymond L. Raney as Radiological Officer
- Resolution No. 2020-13, Raymond L. Raney as Safety Officer
- Resolution No. 2020-14, Dustin Zenger as Solid Waste Director
- Resolution No. 2020-15, Dustin Zenger as Transportation Director

Commissioner Bergstrom's call ended at 9:15 a.m.

Susan Aaron, Emergency Preparedness administrative assistant, presented a permission to travel for Raymond Raney to attend the Kansas Communications Workshop in Topeka from January 14 to 16. Permission was granted.

David Holloway and Jeff Beikmann, EMS, discussed issues regarding covering transfers to other hospitals. Holloway proposed paying an "on call" wage of \$3.00 per hour if a person signed up for call time between Friday night at 7:00 p.m. and Monday morning at 7:00 a.m. This time frame consists of 5-12 hours shifts. Commissioners granted permission to offer the on call pay on a volunteer basis.

Beikmann stated that the fuel center pumps need to be repaired or updated so the screen showing the gallons distributed could be read. Commissioner Jeardoe recommended that Dusty Zenger be contacted in regards to this issue.

Commissioner Jeardoe made a motion to continue using North Central Kansas Local Environmental Planning Group for 2020 and approved the annual fee of \$1,500.00. Commissioner Splichal seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Splichal made a motion to adjourn at 12:10 p.m. Commissioner Jeardoe seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Due to conflicts in schedules, the next regular meeting will be on Tuesday, January 21, 2020, beginning at 8:30 a.m. at the Republic County Courthouse.

ATTEST:	APPROVED:
Kathleen L. Marsicek – County Clerk	Edwin Splichal – Chair
	Marvin Bergstrom – Member
	Melvin Jeardoe – Member