## REPUBLIC COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS' MINUTES MONDAY, JANUARY 10, 2022

The Republic County Commission met in regular session on Monday, January 10, 2022, at 8:30 a.m. at the Republic County Courthouse. Commissioners present were Melvin Jeardoe, Edwin Splichal and Doug Garman. Clerk Kathleen Marsicek was present to record the minutes. Deb Hadachek from Belleville Telescope monitored the meeting.

The meeting was called to order and attendees pledged allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

Pastor Rick Snodgrass, Crossroads Assembly of God Church of Belleville, offered Morning Prayer.

Commissioner Splichal made a motion to approve the agenda. Commissioner Garman seconded the motion. Commissioner Jeardoe made it unanimous.

Commissioner Garman made a motion to approve the January 4, 2022 minutes. Commissioner Splichal seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Accounts payable prior year vouchers were approved in the amount of \$173,508.27. New accounts payable vouchers were approved in the amount of \$287,844.84.

Commissioner Splichal made a motion to nominate Commissioner Garman as the 2022 Chairperson. Commissioner Jeardoe seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Splichal commended Commissioner Jeardoe for his service as the 2021 Chairperson.

Kay Shoemaker, Republic County Development (RCD) secretary, presented a lien release for Courser Lapo Clinical and Family Services, LLC and a release of Life insurance for Lapo because the loan has been paid in full and ahead of schedule.

Shoemaker also presented for signature the biannual reports for Kansas Department of Commerce.

Sheriff Dave Cox announced there has been applicants for the jailer position and asked permission to hire a full-time and part-time jailer.

Cox reported that currently 2 inmates held at Republic County are from the Cloud County facility.

Cox also reported that the weapons ordered in the spring of 2021 are shipping in the near future.

Commissioner Splichal reported that he visited with James Doyle from the Highbanks race association in regards to support for a grant through the Dane Hansen Foundation for the track lights at the Highbanks.

James Doyle presented the application for Commissioner Splichal to sign and explained the grant is for \$309,000 and as a 503D the money can not go directly to them but could be passed through the county foundation and vouchered as work is completed.

Commissioner Splichal made a motion to approve the co-County Newspapers for 2022 as being The Belleville Telescope and The Courtland Journal. Commissioner Jeardoe seconded the motion which Commissioner Garman made unanimous.

The 2022 annual commissioner appointments for Republic County were presented for approval.

Commissioner Splichal made a motion to approve the appointments. Commissioner Jeardoe seconded the motion. Commissioner Garman made it unanimous.

Raymond Raney, Emergency Preparedness Director, presented Resolution No. 2022-15 for damages in Republic County during the wind storm in December. Commissioner Splichal made a motion to approve Resolution No. 2022-15. Commissioner Jeardoe seconded the motion which was made unanimous by Commissioner Garman.

Resolutions number 2022-01 to 2022-14 were presented as follows:

- Resolution No. 2022-01 Raymond Raney as 911 Coordinator
- Resolution No. 2022-02 Raymond Raney as Half time Director of communications
- Resolution No. 2022-03 Raymond Raney as Half time Director of Emergency Manager
- Resolution No. 2022-04 Jeff Beikmann as Assistant Director of EMS
- Resolution No. 2022-05 Raymond Raney as Flood Plain Manager
- Resolution No. 2022-06 Raymond Raney as Hazardous Materials Advisor
- Resolution No. 2022-07 Danielle Swanson as Director of the Health Department
- Resolution No. 2022-08 Ken Robbins as Highway Administrator
- Resolution No. 2022-09 Mike Nondorf as Noxious Weed Director
- Resolution No. 2022-10 Raymond Raney as Radiological Officer
- Resolution No. 2022-11 Raymond Raney as Safety Officer
- Resolution No. 2022-12 Ken Robbins as Solid Waste Director
- Resolution No. 2022-13 Ken Robbins as Transportation Director
- Resolution No. 2022-14 David (Levi) Whitley as Director of EMS

Commissioner Jeardoe made a motion to approve all the presented Resolutions. Commissioner Splichal seconded the motion. Commissioner Garman made it unanimous.

In the absence of Ken Robbins, Susan Aaron presented information from Robbins.

- Aaron presented the weekly community concerns and projects completed report.
- Aaron presented pictures of a bridge project.
- Aaron also reported that the new recycling trailer has not arrived.

In the past few weeks there has been an issue with the WI-FI hubs throughout the courthouse and Clerk Marsicek presented two quotes from Nex-Tech to replace the outdated access points.

- First quote is to replace the access points and contract a service agreement with Nex-Tech for 36 months for \$125.00 per month or \$4,500.00 total cost.
- The second quote is to purchase the equipment outright including installation and no service contract for \$3,373.45. Commissioner Jeardoe made a motion to accept the outright purchase of equipment. Commissioner Splichal seconded the

Commissioner Jeardoe made a motion to accept the outright purchase of equipment. Commissioner Splichal seconded the motion which Commissioner Garman made unanimous.

Raney-Safety Director and Comstock-courthouse custodian, were requested to join the meeting to discuss the possibility of making the north door an employee only access. Comstock will research the cost of a key code lock. This notice will be effective today, January 10, 2022. The public may enter the building from the west or front or east or back of courthouse.

Clerk Marsicek will contact the media to announce the changes of open access.

At 11:45 a.m., Commissioner Splichal made a motion to adjourn. Commissioner Jeardoe seconded the motion. Commissioner Garman made in unanimous.

The next regular meeting will be on Monday, January 17, 2022 at 8:30 a.m. at the Republic County Courthouse.

ATTEST: \_\_\_\_\_ APPROVED: \_\_\_\_\_ Doug Garman – Chair

Edwin Splichal – Member \_\_\_\_\_ Melvin Jeardoe– Member